Another Online Quilting Business that doesn’t accept Paypal

Matt Sparrow disappointed again in another online vendor that doesn’t accept Paypal! Listen up, if you market your business online please consider accepting paypal, all you need is an email and it secures your customers payments. I TRUST PAYPAL! I DON’T TRUST YOUR PAYMENT PROCESSOR with my credit card info!

Arlene Graden Simpson

Arlene Graden Simpson

what do you want to buy from me — I take PayPal 🙂
Kathi Muscarella Iacovelli

Kathi Muscarella Iacovelli

I agree. It makes money exchange easier too.
Heather Mullins-Teasley

Heather Mullins-Teasley

So true! PayPal is the only way I will pay for anything online unless it is a big box store like Target or Macy’s. It is also the only form of payment I accept.
Barbara J Childs

Barbara J Childs

I agree. I prefer shops that have Paypal.
Debbie Platt Smreker

Debbie Platt Smreker

I had that problem. Then I got the paypal credit card. It takes the payment right out of your paypal account.
Autumn Comforts

Autumn Comforts

I’ve had my PayPal account for 11 years now, and neither I nor my customers have ever had a single problem with it! And, it’s easy to use, absolutely secure, and has so many user-friendly features. As both a vendor and a shopper, I LOVE PayPal!!!
Autumn Comforts

Autumn Comforts

And Matt, I agree: I’ve left sites with items in my cart solely because it turned out the vendor didn’t accept PayPal. I won’t use anything else for my own online purchases, so in that instance, I leave and go do my shopping elsewhere.
K Baxter Packwood

K Baxter Packwood

I was resistant to PP for years, cause a lot of folks still hate it or still can’t figure out how to use it, I know I know it just can’t possibly be but it is. Anyway, I made the switch when PP started taking CC’s and finally MIVA, my shopping cart, was able to set up a module to make it all work effeciently. The majority of the buyers are using their CC’s through PP.
Joe Beai Sr

Joe Beai Sr

I agree with Matt. I trust PP WAY more than individual sites. Before PP, I even had my own provider double charge for items. Does not make for happy customers.
Deanna Keller

Deanna Keller

SERIOUSLY!! PAYPAL GUARANTEES YOUR PURCHASE AND PROTECTS YOUR PRIVATE INFO FROM BEING SEEN BY OTHERS….UNREAL!
Matt Sparrow

Matt Sparrow

Keep your comments coming. 🙂 I will post this entire discussion to my blog later today to give online vendors a little wake up call. And I’ll even spell disappointed properly LMAO!
Wendy Finlay

Wendy Finlay

That’s good to hear … I don’t buy from online quilt shops when I can ‘t use Paypal. The shop might have the best and cheapest, but if it doesn’t have paypal, I’ll buy it a little more expensive at a shop that does offer paypal.
Joanna Allen-Wood

Joanna Allen-Wood

I do like Paypal first but when I’m stuck I have a CC just for internet use. I has a preset limit with the bank and orders never to raise that limit. And actually has orders attached if I’m charging to the limit security will phone me before allowing the payment. Or for my conveince I can phone them first. Never been over charged on my CC. In fact I had visa reverse a charge once for something I never received via ebay. Ebay was unwilling to help other then give negative feedback. Paypal said it had been too long. 45 days. Which with our mail system I’ve had things take that long to get here from foreign destinations. If a business doesn’t take Visa or Paypal then too bad. My biggest complaint is way too many US based business will not ship to Canada, like we are another country on Mars. I’ve found companies to will ship to Europe and Asia but not Canada???So that’s my two cents if it’s worth that much.
Lynnette April Cooper

Lynnette April Cooper

I have learned that some sellers are om assisted living. they are not suppose to make any money on the side, so they want cashiers checks. We can thank the goverment for that. My brother is on S.S.I. and can recieve money as a gift. Any income he has to declare over $100.00 they take away food stamps etc. My brother has Cerbal Palsy from birth and when my mother passed away when he was 15, he recieved death benifits because he can’t work. He a seller, but knows all the ins and outs of making money. My brother is also legally blind and when he was young ran a news stand for the blind. At that time he did not qualifiy for S.S.I. benefits. When he could no longer see to get around he quit and is now in assisted living!!
Heather Mullins-Teasley

Heather Mullins-Teasley

I prefer to ship to Canada over any other country (except the US)… The customs process does not take as long when shipping to our neighbor. I’m about to change my shop policies to state that I only ship to US and Canada after the Christmas debacle. If you live in another country and made a purchase on Dec. 20th and only paid $3.00 for shipping and handling, please DO NOT expect your package to make it by Christmas. I can’t even guarantee that when shipping in the US. LOL.
Lynda Thompson

Cashier checks can be a risk too, a lot of scams involve cashier checks these days. I prefer Paypal also because a credit card number can be misused much easier.
2 thoughts on “Another Online Quilting Business that doesn’t accept Paypal”

  1. PayPal is great. However for a small business it is VERY expensive. If I took PP or even Credit Cards, I would have to raise my prices. Although I sell internet, most of my customers are in my state and prefer the lower prices. I do just fine without either and have no intention of getting either at this time. I’ve never had any problems ordering from any quilt shop online. If I do expand in the future, Pay Pal would be the way I would go. But again, I would have to pass the cost on to my customers.

  2. Here is another side of this discussion. I am a small online quilt shop plus, I operate my retail shop which is open to the public year round. My pricing is as competitive as I can make it in Canada. So, I watch every expense in order to offer the best price I can on the products I carry. There is a lot of competition out there in the quilt shop business. If I used Pay Pal, my costs would increase and… this would really cut into what ever profit margins I have left. I also know of other vendors who have had problems with paypal and have had to spend way to much time to recover monies that are due to them. So, for us small retailers, there are costly problems with Pay Pal.

    I am already a credit card merchant and I am paying for this service anyway without using Pay Pal. I process every online credit card order manually, myself – personally (I am the owner of the shop). NO one else handles this information. My credit card printouts, here in my shop, do not show the numbers (new safety checks offered by my credit card merchanting company). In 6 years, I have never encountered any problems with my card merchanting company or with my online customers – I have never had a complaint and there has never been any abuse. My experience tells me that all the safety checks are in place to safe guard my customers. It is interesting to read everyone’s take on this subject. What I am going to do on my site is offer a detailed assurance for those who have these concerns, so reading all of your comments has been helpful to me. Thanks much for the discussion.

Leave a Reply

