Who’s ever heard of a Bargello Wholecloth

In the quilting world, you can never be to sure if you have an original idea. There are so many quilters all over the world and many of them come up with very similar ideas with a unique twist. I think I just may have come up with something quite unique.

After months of staring at my wife’s bargello hanging on the wall in my studio, I woke up out of a deep sleep with a fabulous idea. While at least I though it was fabulous, but truly had no idea if it would turn out or not. The idea I had was to create a bargello with only thread. I would pick out 9 cones of Aurifil from my thread wardrobe and stitch them onto a black muslin in the same pattern that you would piece a bargello.

So I got the fabric all marked with chalk, and had at her. Here are a few pictures of my progress.

Bargello wholecloth
Bargello wholecloth quilted with a millennium

Long Arm quilting Pebbles

Bargello grid

Aurifil thread colors showing it's true beauty
stitching wholecloth bargello on The FAlcon

photo of quilted pebbles

2009 millennium falcon quilting a threaded masterpiece

This was of course only my first practice run of the quilt I want to make. A Bargello Wholecloth of Sorts! The finished piece will have a combination of trapunto and threadplay. Made possible by the unmistakable sheen of AURIFIL Thread. What do you think?

8 thoughts on “Who’s ever heard of a Bargello Wholecloth”

  1. wow, that’s fantastic Matt! It never ceases to amaze me what the mind can conceive. If you used a tulle or something similar instead of the black could you make your own lace-type thing-y?

  2. Your artistic imagination if awesome! It’s just gorgeous! It’s looks “bridal.” The song, “White Wedding” comes to mind, even tho the piece is not all white. The thread play comes out looking almost pastel. It’s a winner in my book!

Leave a Reply

