9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 days left! It seems li…

9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 days left!

It seems like months ago that I was asked to send a quilt in to display at the ‘Real Men Can Quilt’ exhibit at MQX this year. Now that I think about it, it was months ago! So much has happened between then and now, the time has flown by.

I still remember the day I decided to submit a quilt. I went to the MQX website to learn a little bit more about the show and there under ‘CLASSES’ I saw the name that started the thought process that maybe I should attend. I’m sure you all have heard of this teacher and many of you have had the priveledge of attending one of her classes. Karen McTavish has been breaking the stereotype of the typical quilter for years and I was thrilled that I may have the chance to see her in person.

There are two things that make this teacher extra special in my book. Karen has mastered two skills that I have always wanted to try but never seemed to find the time. The first is appropriately called McTavishing and the second is Whitework quilting on wholecloth. You can learn more about this fabulous teacher at http://learn-2-quilt.com/ where Karen is the featured Quilting Teacher for the month of April.

With this being said and after countless hours booking classes, flights and hotel, the countdown to MQX begins. I leave on Sunday, April 12 for 6 fun filled days of learning from the best. Here is a list of classes I am fortunate enough to attend.

Wholecloth Design Class Monday, April13,2009 9-4pm Karen McTavish 101

McTavishing Certification Tuesday,April14, 2009 1-3pm Karen McTavish 209

Fun With Threads Tuesday,April14, 2009 4-6pm DeLoa Jones 213

Pricing Strategies for Longarm Quilters Wednesday, April 15, 2009 8-9pm Dawn Cavanaugh 330

SECRETS FOR A SUCCESSFUL BUSINESS Wednesday, April 15, 2009 10-12pm Debbi Trevino 338

Teaching the Teacher Wednesday, April 15, 2009 1-3pm Pam Clarke 319

Victorian Feathers Wednesday, April 15, 2009 4-6 Karen McTavish 323 $40.00

Leave a Reply

